Time

Tick tock, tick tock. The hands race furiously-

-around the clock!

I thought up this little rhyme today, while my head was spinning. I was in a rush, trying to think of a subject to write about. I needed to beat a deadline, and that old familiar voice inside my head was taunting me; “Hurry, hurry, hurry! You are running out of time!”

I started thinking about “time”.

Time is a valuable resource, yet we often take it for granted. Once time is gone, you can never get it back. You can’t save up your time and use it later like roll over minutes on the old cellphone plans, either.

Of course, time seems to stand still when we’re young. Hours feel like days, days feel like months, and months seem like years. There are milestones ahead, and it seems like eternity has to pass before we can reach them!

Before we know it, marriages, babies, jobs, bills, and even divorce all whirl past us with blazing speed. We just don’t have enough time!

Vacations are too short, and weekends are gone in the blink of an eye. We can’t even find time for our families or for coffee with friends! We dread our commutes and grocery store visits because there are long lines and we’ll be stuck waiting.  We’re wasting time!

…Then, when we least expect it, we reach the “golden years”. We are officially “old”. Don’t lose heart though, because I’ll tell you something; wisdom comes with age. The mornings begin with a sense of gratitude, the hours are savored, and the present becomes a precious gift.

Whoever coined that old phrase really knew what they were talking about, because these years are golden indeed.

So, I urge you… heed the advice of the older and wise, and spend your time wisely.

Slow down.

No matter where you are or what you are doing, appreciate the time that you have.

They say that time is money, but what you learn as you get old-

-is that every second counts,

-and time’s more valuable than gold.

-Janet


I thought I would share “the edited version” of what I wrote for yesterday’s class (after I was done fiddling with the electric dancers).

I created the featured image today in Illustrator, just to get some design practice in as well.

Have an awesome and blessed weekend everyone! Love you guys!!

6 Comments

  1. Great post! The older I get, the faster time seems to slip away. Your post reminded me of some words I’ve heard long ago. I searched, they are part of a poem by Delmore Schwartz. He said: “Time is the school in which we learn,
    Time is the fire in which we burn.” Makes sense to me these days!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have written a true and timely observation. Prior to my Mom’s passing, she would always say, ” I can’t believe I’m this old” and ” how did the years go so fast? I miss my parents and can’t believe how long they have been gone. You have a good message of appreciating today! It is what we have and all we have.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

