The Eternal Road

This art stuff is just too much fun!!


First, I want to start by responding to Your Turn, posted back on May 8th- on Discovering and Sharing Grace. Obviously, I’m a little far behind on my reading.

The question was “What are you thankful for.”

I know that we are to love God with all of our heart, soul, strength and mind; to pray without ceasing, and to give thanks at all times… and not just when the going is good.

But, I have to tell you that when the going is good it sure gets easier! The fact of the matter is that I have an endless list of things to be thankful for… starting with my sobriety.

Today marks 1.2 years- or 441 days of sobriety. 10,577 hours without alcohol… to be exact.

The funny thing about THAT, is that I’ve gone without a drink for 9 years before, but I was still on the wrong road. I had no program and no belief in God, my Higher Power. That’s the REAL reason that I now celebrate life every single day. Because this time it’s different. Today a power MUCH greater than myself is working in me, and as long as I keep my eyes on Him… the road ahead is illuminated.


On another note, I created this image today. I’m still watching YouTube videos and reading tutorials, and I can’t help but get excited every time I learn something new!

I actually extracted the Santa Monica sign from a photograph that I took at the beach.

I can’t say I did it perfectly, or exactly as the video suggested, but it worked to my liking- so I’m happy about that. I also learned a little more about shapes, distortions, borders and brushes. Like I said… too much fun!!

So, to wrap it up… I thought the image had a little to do with my gratitude story. The End of The Trail makes me think of just over 10,577 hours ago… when I checked into the hospital to detox.

It was the END of my downhill struggle, down the wrong road, which led me deep into that pit of destruction. And, it was the beginning of my NEW LIFE, and I am eternally grateful for that. I think the colorful stars may represent that… My walk with God, where everything shines. 🙂

That’s about all for now. Have a beautiful evening, morning or afternoon!!

Peace and Love!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment

