A Bright Burst

“Our prayers may be awkward. Our attempts may be feeble. But since the power of prayer is in the one who hears it and not in the one who says it, our prayers do make a difference.” – Max Lucado

My journey sure is getting interesting! Every day I learn a little something about myself, about my habits, and about the power of thoughts

I do a lot of reading. There are SO many views out there, even (or maybe especially) when it comes to Faith. Being a youngster in my walk… I try to be very careful about what information I let in and what kinds of things I try to keep out.

Anyway, I had a real eye opener recently, while reading The Power of Positive Thinking, by Norman Vincent Peale. About prayer.

I realized that when I pray (which I struggle at to begin with), I do it in a begging or pleading sort of way. And then I wait… feeling powerless and just sort of hoping that some divine miracle is going to change everything. And truth be told, I do it with little faith that my prayer is actually being heard, let alone will be answered. I’m not talking about selfish prayers, either.

I’ve been approaching my prayers differently lately. With belief that they are effective prayers; that God is listening, and that not only WILL He answer them, but that He already IS answering them.

It is working GREAT. I believe I am actually helping people… just through my prayers for them- and it’s helped me be more (physically) available to others who DO need help- even if it’s just offering them love and words of encouragement.

Maybe it’s opening up that channel to allow God to work through me. It’s definitely given me the confidence to be there for some people who were in need recently – without that OLD worry that perhaps I have little or nothing to offer them. And I feel blessed. My personal life is chugging along at a comfortable pace. Things are happening!

It’s kind of embarrassing to say that I prayed with such little faith before, but it’s a reality- and I’m so glad that it was brought to my attention!

Well, that’s about all for now. Just wanted to share that update and my art. It’s an odd image, but I was happy with the colors! Something to pass the time on an almost rainy day. 😉

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. -Mark 11:24

Have a beautiful weekend everyone! Life is good and God is great!

2 Comments

  1. Hallelujah!! And we all struggle with our prayers, even if we have done it for decades. You are not alone! As the angel Gabriel told Daniel, the answer is on the way before you even pray. Just have a conversation with God. Remember that Jesus and the Holy Spirit intercede for us!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Comment

