Signs of Change

Now that I’m back in the realm of randomness, I’m messing with alterations. This is a street sign by my old High School. Actually, it’s the street that I used to hang out on when I would cut classes, and do other experimental things.

I’ve always said that I hated school. I really DID back then- but I thought of something today.

When I was hanging out there recently and taking pictures, I watched the kids for awhile. Some were practicing their sports, joking and laughing, and others were talking and hanging out while waiting for their parents to pick them up. They all looked so happy.

For a moment, I was a bit sad (or disappointed) that I hadn’t experienced that kind of enthusiasm in my school days. It appeared to be a fun place now!

Looking around, I thought why did I hate it here so much?!?

Today I knew the answer to that while I was modifying this sign. There was only one reason why I was miserable back then, and it had nothing to do with the school- or the people that I went to school with. It was me. What was erroneous back then was my state of mind. Fear and negativity.

Now I see everything differently.

And now the sign is a bit different too! Besides changing the sign… I added the moon and the bird. My signature I guess. 😉

Have a beautiful evening, morning or afternoon!

The real voyage of discovery exists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes. -Marcel Proust

 

15 Comments

  1. High school- ugh. Not a good time for me either. Same fear and negativity. And other experimental things. To this day I really dislike going into a school- still not a fan of the traditional classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can really relate to how you felt about school.

    I had the privilege of going back to graduate school. And doing it sober. That made all the difference. That, and having some real life work experience to go with it. It was incredible graduate experiencing. Actually wanting to be there was an incredible feeling.

    Like

  3. Nailed it. I wonder what it might be like to be able to toggle your perspective. What might have you seen? I’m so grateful today for the perspective I have now and it has been a gradual change, Thank you for sharing.The image is very cool and thought provoking insight in the written part.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks and I agree completely. In fact I think you gave me an idea for another post. Also, I was thinking earlier about boy I wish I knew then what I know now… but that almost sounds like regret, so I snuffed the thought. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful insights to help remind us or me at least, to ” live ” in the moment. I didn’t enjoy certain years of school and managed to like others. Never really fit in to any group, kind of like the observing dove on the line. Wondering when it might be my turn. Thank you for sharing your gifts !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

