Dark Places

Who’s Out There?

I know it’s not beautiful, but I spent some extra time in the creepy underpass today- near the Los Angeles river- just to get more pigeon shots.

Last night I had an amazing God shot and this image works perfect for the story.


Anyone following my story knows that I’ve been my own worst enemy for the better part of my life. I overthink, doubt myself, and self-criticize.

After my post Imaginary Questions I wasn’t feeling the relief that I had anticipated. In fact, I was bombarded with even MORE thoughts. Mainly doubting my move to write the post in the first place.

Just before bed I was pondering my previous stories about my angst, my fears, and the imaginary THEY’s that I’d been conforming to please (although I did come up with some REAL ones that I’ll talk about later).

I had some pretty solid thoughts about my next segment, was putting notes together, and thinking back to my talk about the enemy’s whispers in parts two and seven- when I brought up the question: Who told me those things?

That’s when it happened. Loud and Clear–  Genesis 3:11-

WHO TOLD YOU THAT YOU WERE NAKED?

I’ll tell you right now that this could only have come from God because I can’t even remember how or why it burst into my head! And never have I pondered the question that God asked Adam and Eve, or imagined that it meant something more than how it appears on the surface.

But last night, I knew instantly that it was important.

Who DID tell them???


There are actually two books titled WHO TOLD YOU THAT YOU WERE NAKED? Both of them address fear, judgement, condemnation and guilt. I’ll be checking them out and hope to have more to share on the subject soon.

4 Comments

  1. Thank you for sharing your walk of faith. I too am my own worst critic and way too hard on myself! In therapy, I learn to let go of the could haves and should haves and to be kinder to me. Regarding the photo, I really like it! You have converging lines and the red eye and face is perfect. My prayer I is for you to be more gentle with you. I learned that being hard on mysel was only hurting me. Blessings for your day

    Like

Leave a Comment

