Puddle of Dung

When I titled my last post Changing Seasons, my thoughts drifted… thinking about my ever-changing life.

I’ve had twenty three residences since I left home thirty four years ago, and that’s not counting the numerous times that I’d take a time out, back at my parent’s house. In all honesty, moving is one of my favorite things (after road trips). Each time, it’s like a fresh start and it motivates me to declutter.

That’s actually where I am with my walk with God, and my recovery. Each day is fresh and new, and a little decluttering gets accomplished. Sometimes I feel like I bring up my past too often, but I realized it’s just the season I’m in right now.

At recovery class, our pastor used Luke 14: 34-35 for our last lesson. “Salt is good, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored? It is of no use either for the soil or for the manure pile. It is thrown away. He who has ears to hear, let him hear.”

Apparently sprinkling salt on fertilizer (manure) speeds up the decomposition and gives you something RICH to spread on your soil, for the sake of growth. The point of the lesson was that, to be of use to other alcoholics (or addicts) who are still struggling, we need to be the salt. We need to dive into their dunghill, and help them find and extract the nutrients.

It made me realize that, with just eight months sober today, I’m still in the midst of wading through my own puddle of dung

…but I’m finding some pretty good stuff in there!

Leave a Comment

