Picking Up Speed


Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous. – Albert Einstein


My sponsor said that to me once, after I told her about the coincidences that started happening in my life when I was coming to believe.  It was exactly twenty one months ago today, when everything began to unfold.

Throughout life, up until that time, my eyes were closed. I say that because, looking back, I’m finally able to recognize God’s little nudges and prior attempts to get my attention when I was in desperate need of help- but didn’t know (or believe) that it was Him that I should turn to.

One thing I’ve never mentioned is that some years ago, I lost my jeep. She quit running and I was in no condition, mentally OR financially, to have her repaired. I had to let her go. I had NO business driving back then anyway, if you know what I mean, so I have to wonder if that may have been one of those anonymous blessings.

Needless to say, it’s been a struggle without her. I don’t talk about it, but I’ve prayed about it. Quite a few times actually. I don’t usually ask God for things, but transportation is very important, and it’s step one toward moving forward (at least a little quicker!) in this exciting new life.

I realized today that the timing for this blog couldn’t have been more perfect. Not because I’m at the bottom. I don’t believe you can call it the bottom if you’ve found God, and put the plug in the jug, as they say. If you had witnessed the final days of my drinking escapade, you’d know that I’m a far cry above THAT bottom.

Nevertheless, there’s still a mountain to climb, and I’ve made it safely to base camp. Sober. What a great place to begin. I’m so excited to share tales of my ascent with everyone. All that I need to do now is gather up my gear- which is actually what I’ve been trying to get at here-

I was in the middle of my post the other day, talking about flying by the seat of my pants, when I got a text from my best friend. We grew up together and she’s like a sister to me. Anyway, she and her husband were talking about me over dinner when her husband made a wild suggestion. For a minute, I thought I was going to fly right out of the seat of those pants that I fly by!

It came from so far out of left field that I never saw it coming. I think the ball actually hit me on the back of the head, because I had to pinch myself to make sure I was awake. They knew nothing about my secret talks with God, but randomly and quite unexpectedly… they offered me their old car.

I get to pick it up in a few days.

I’m not sure about you, but I suspect that there may be a note waiting for me when I get inside….

You’re on your way child. Enjoy your journey, and don’t look back. Always remain faithful. – Eternally,

Your Father


This is what Christmas lights look like when photographed from a car going about 40 miles per hour!

2 Comments

  1. That’s just full of good stuff there.

    Funny so this weekend first tlme in my life i drove a jeep! I had a choice of 3 cars and thought. Keep why not im in open country. Let’s do a jeep. Also turns out its the car my son wants to own.
    Anyways I didn’t know your jeep story. And a new ride! That’s great opens thjngs up a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wait. What?! There’s something I haven’t told you about myself?! Incredible. Jeeps are cool. Your son has good taste! I hope you had a great visit, I think I saw some pics pop up. Love you to the moon! were you using talk to comment?? 😉 just kidding. xoxo

      Like

Leave a Comment

