Reflections

I had a little epiphany today. I love it when that happens.

It was about 3am the other night (or morning) when I finally shut down my computer. I could have stayed up later if my tired, crazy bloodshot eyes hadn’t caused my blurred vision. That evening, I had spent the hours tinkering with photos, browsing blogs, and perusing some tips and tricks offered by talented photographers out there.

I started thinking more seriously about this hobby of mine. I tend to fly by the seat of my pants, and while taking photographs is definitely one of my passions, I have to be honest and say that I point and click pretty randomly most of the time.

For ME, the project actually starts when I open up the pictures on my laptop and begin to dissect them. Some are fine just as they are, but what pleases me most is finding ways to turn drab or boring digital snapshots into something eye-catching.

For the past few days I’ve been kind of contemplating… What IS this hobby of mine really about?

This morning I put that question to rest, and started thinking about where my blog is headed. The whole reason behind it was to share my story- my journey in sobriety, my walk with God, and the transformation of my life.

My thoughts drifted back to a dream I’ve had for a while, of starting a second hand store and selling items that I had recycled, restored or repurposed. That’s when it hit me.

Transformation!

THAT’s what it’s all about. I love to work with objects that don’t appear to be much on the surface, and lovingly transform them into something new. Something different. Something beautiful!

My passion is transforming things.

So it turns out that my hobbies sort of reflect my own life. God is chiseling away at my façade… sifting through the mess, discarding the rubble and debris…and slowly transforming me.

A hidden treasure awaits!

Stay encouraged!

 

Leave a Comment

