A Sprinkle of Faith

There were a few things that were weighing heavy on my mind when I first reached out to my friend Gil. He’s the one that I wrote about in “Hearing God’s Whisper

I had reached a point in my life, and in my drinking (just barely above bottom), where I knew that I was ready, wanted, and NEEDED to find God. The life I had been living was without faith, with NO belief, and…looking in the rear view mirror, seemed almost pointless.

I had no purpose.

What I REALLY want to talk about here is, perhaps, one of the most significant things that changed my perspective entirely. Gil inspired me to write my story. It wasn’t so much that he encouraged me to write, it was that he proposed that I “write about how people can change at any age.” That was in November of 2014, two months before I got sober.

I think that’s when I had my first epiphany. I was going to take on the challenge! I was going to write the story of how my life was transformed. This actually meant something HUGE to me. In order to fulfill the mission…

I actually had to change! I HAD A PURPOSE!

I began with a blank piece of paper, and had absolutely no idea how it would all turn out, but I set my sights on a glorious future. The possibilities were boundless. All I could imagine was that something magnificent was waiting for me out there, and that all I really had to do to find it…was believe. That tiny glimmer of hope was all it took.

A sprinkle of faith.

After talking with Gil about my struggles and doubts, the endless pursuits, and my unceasing inability to ever reach a point of complete fulfillment- I was finally beginning to understand what it means to be born again, and to look toward eternity.

It means coming to the table with a clean slate every morning, and seeing things from new perspectives every day. It means that there IS something glorious and magnificent out there. AND it means that the “Perfect Love” that I have always longed for…really DOES exist…

…For eternity.

“Because you’re not yet taking God seriously,” said Jesus. “The simple truth is that if you had a mere kernel of faith, a poppy seed, say, you would tell this mountain, ‘Move!’ and it would move. There is nothing you wouldn’t be able to tackle.” Matthew 17:20


Next Up: The Comeback Kid

4 Comments

Leave a Comment

