Hearing God’s Whisper

Whenever I talk about “finding God”, I always wonder how people perceive that. You know… like… I wonder if they think I saw a vision (or thought that I did). How else DO you acknowledge that you’ve found something that can’t be seen or touched?

Sometimes people come into your life, and whether they stay long or just pass through briefly, they leave you with something. They have an impact on you. To me, that’s God.

When I was younger, the handful of times I attended church had discouraged me. I showed up. I tried to understand. Sadly, I was like a fish out of water. I felt nothing. It was almost like walking into a theater… in the middle of a movie. The entire time you’re watching it you’re trying to catch up, but it’s not making any sense! Everyone there knows something that you don’t. They know the whole story.


I spent months on end corresponding with a dear friend of mine (the one who inspired me to share my story), when I was drinking and in despair . One of the greatest things he proffered me, aside from his graciousness, was an unwavering conviction that, not only was I going to make it out alive, but that GREAT things were in store for me.

He taught me that there’s a significant difference between religion and relationship. He had an undeniable relationship with God, and I wanted what he had! I would not be where I am right now, if it wasn’t for his friendship, support and guidance.

Since our first conversation, almost two years ago, he has been there. Listening, praying and encouraging me, every step of the way.

If that’s not God whispering to me, I don’t know what is.

Next Up: A Lighter Load

Dear children, let’s not merely say that we love each other; let us show the truth by our actions. – 1 John 3:18

8 Comments

  1. I also have an “encourager” in my life. 17 years now and he’s told me the same things. He was right. So far, the only difference in our stories is that I always believed. Even before anyone “spoke” to me about God- I always knew something greater existed- I’m talking 4 or 5 years old. I didn’t have a name for him…..I’ve always been a seeker.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

